The state of Texas requires registration to work as a pharmacy technician with the Texas State Board of Pharmacy. You may Pharmacy-Technician-Requirements-in-Texasregister as a pharmacy technician or a pharmacy technician trainee. You may not work at a Texas pharmacy without having an active registration with the Board.

To register with the state, you must fully complete and submit an online pharmacy technician registration application using the State of Texas Licensing System. The required registration fee for pharmacy technician trainees is $62, and the fee for pharmacy technicians is $99. Trainees may only registration one time only and it cannot be renewed.

Registrations must be renewed on a biennial basis and can be completed online. The cost of renewal is $96.

Basic Pharmacy Technician Requirements in Texas

The following are the minimum requirements to register as a pharmacy technician trainee:

  • No age requirements
  • Must have a high school diploma or GED, or in the process of earning a high school diploma or GED
  • Must submit to a criminal background check

The following are the minimum requirements to register as a pharmacy technician:

  • No age requirements
  • Must have a high school diploma or GED, or in the process of earning a high school diploma or GED
  • Must submit to a criminal background check
  • Must have passed the PTCB examination or be granted exemption from the Board (you may petition the Board for exemption by following the instructions in Chapter 297, Rule 297.7 of the Texas Administrative Code

Training Requirements

The Texas Board of Pharmacy does not require training to register as a pharmacy technician.

If you choose to attend a formal training program, be sure to select one that is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). Programs that are accredited by the ASHP have shown that they meet the recommended requirements to help enable you to pass one of the national exams.

Continuing education (CE) of at least 20 hours over a two-year period is required by all pharmacy technicians. If you do not maintain current of PTCB certification, you must maintain records of taking CE.

Search Pharmacy Technician Programs

Get information on Pharmacy Technician programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Ad

Certification Requirements

As a part of registration, the state of Texas requires pharmacy technicians to be certified by the PTCB. However, after initial registration you are not required to maintain PTCB certification.

Please consult the Texas Administrative Code – Title 22, Part 15, Chapter 297 for more information regarding requirements for pharmacy technicians.

Pharmacy Tech Training in Texas

Below lists some schools available for pharmacy technician training:

The College of Health Care Professions (CHCP) offers a Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program at their campuses in Austin and Dallas, TX. CHCP’s 9-month career-focused program will teach you all the skills you need to be a successful Pharmacy Technician. Prior to starting the program, students must have taken and passed the PTCE exam.

After completing the certificate program, you will have access to the school’s statewide job placement program to get help you acquire a great entry-level job.

Please contact CHCP at 800-487-6728 for more information.

Amarillo College offers a Pharmacy Technician Training Program that is accredited by the ASHP and prepares you to take and pass the PTCB exam. The program starts twice per year and applications are accepted on a first-come, first-served basis only.

For more information about the program, contact the school at 806-371-5000.

Texas State Technical College in Waco offers a Pharmacy Technician Program where you will earn a Certificate of Completion. The program can be completed in approximately one year with classes that comprise both hands-on instruction and classroom lectures.

Contact the program at 254-867-4873 for more information.