Prior to working in a pharmacy, you must submit your written application for registration and $60 fee to receive your registration certification. Your application must include a recent passport photo and the application must be notarized by a notary public. Click here for the registration application. The renewal fee must be paid biennially in odd numbered years.
Basic Pharmacy Technician Requirements in Alabama
- Be at least 17 years of age
- Must be a US citizen
- Must work under the direct supervision of an Alabama licensed pharmacist
While there is no formal educational requirement to register, after receiving your registration certification, you must complete 3 hours of continuing education on an annual basis with one of the 3 hours in live presentation format.
At this time, earning national certification as a pharmacy technician (CPhT) is not required in Alabama.
Please consult the Alabama statutes and code, section 34-23-151 for more information regarding continuing education, technician assistance and pharmacy regulations.
Pharmacy Tech Training in Alabama
Below lists schools available for training:
Virginia College in Birmingham has a 15 month program to earn a Pharmacy Technician Diploma. Click here for more information or call 205-802-1200.
George C. Wallace State Community College in Hanceville has a 12 month program in which you can earn your certificate. Visit their website or contact the program director at 256-352-8023 for more information.