To work as a pharmacy technician in the state of Wyoming, you must apply for a license with the Wyoming State Board of Pharmacy-Technician-Requirements-in-WyomingPharmacy.

You can apply for either as a Pharmacy Technician or a Pharmacy Technician-In-Training. To obtain a license as a pharmacy tech, fully complete and submit the Pharmacy Technician application packet which you must request via email.  The fee for the license is $50. Licenses are renewed online or using the Pharmacy Technician License Renewal application annually either on or before December 31st. The renewal fee is $50.

To apply as a technician-in-training, request a permit application packet via email.  The registration fee is $15. Permits are valid for two years and cannot be renewed.

Basic Pharmacy Technician Requirements in Wyoming

The following are the minimum requirements to register as a Pharmacy Technician:

  • Must be at least 18 years or older
  • Must have a high school diploma or a GED
  • Must have no felony or misdemeanor conviction related to drugs within a 36-month period prior to registration
  • Must have no history of drug abuse – or provide proof of recovery
  • Must be currently certified by the PTCB

The following are the minimum requirements to register as a Pharmacy Technician-in-Training:

  • Must be at least 18 years or older
  • Must have a high school diploma or a GED
  • Must have no felony or misdemeanor conviction related to drugs within a 36-month period prior to registration
  • Must have no history of drug abuse – or provide proof of recovery

Training Requirements

The state of Wyoming requires serving as a technician-in-training prior to full obtaining your technician status.

If you choose to attend a formal training program, check that the program is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP). Programs that are accredited by the ASHP have shown that they meet the recommended requirements to help enable you to pass one of the national exams.

All pharmacy techs who wish to renew their license must complete a minimum of 6 hours of continuing education that is Board-approved and certified by one of the following:

  • Wyoming Pharmacist Association (W.Ph.A.)
  • American Pharmaceutical Association (A.Ph.A)
  • Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (P.T.C.B.)
  • American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (A.C.P.E.)
  • Pharmacist at pharmacy tech’s employer

Certification Requirements

The state of Wyoming recognizes the PTCB national certification for pharmacy technicians.

Please consult Wyoming’s Chapter 10 – Pharmacy Technician Regulations for more information regarding requirements for pharmacy techs.

Search Pharmacy Technician Programs

Get information on Pharmacy Technician programs by entering your zip code and request enrollment information.

Sponsored Ad

Pharmacy Tech Training in Wyoming

Below lists schools available for training:

Casper College offers both a Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program and a Pharmacy Technology Degree Program. Classes are available both online and in live classroom format. Practicum experience is available as part of the program for hands-on experience.

Contact the school at 307-268-3033 for further information.

IBMC College in Cheyenne offers a Pharmacy Technician Training Program that is accredited by the ASHP. All students enrolled in the program are required to complete an externship for hands-on experience.

Get more information about the program by contacting the schools at 800-495-2669